The completely unfiltered diary of a 23-year-old (week 52)

Amberblazexx
4 min readJun 30, 2021

Played badminton with Jessie for a grand total of maybe 15 minutes before she got a blister. Weak. Lol. It was fun while it lasted. And she even engineered an extremely precarious-looking but strangely effective method of keeping her bag off the wet floor (it had just rained).

Had a good day hanging out with Gia. She’s been wearing a lot more crop tops and shorts recently — a huge change from before when always seemed to wear pants. Not sure what that means. Maybe it just means the weather is too damn hot. But anyway, it probably wouldn’t be wise to bring it up. Might make her uncomfortable.

But it’s nice to see her wearing shorts more now and being comfortable with that. Remind me of once when I was on holiday and staying with this middle-aged mom, she’d only seen me and my other friend in jeans (we’d only packed jeans because we thought it’d be cold…) One day we decided to go to the beach, and decided, fuck it, let’s buy some cheap ass shorts from the thrift store because hell no we aren’t going to the beach in jeans. And when the middle-aged mom saw us in shorts, she was like whoa! So nice to see you girls in some itty-bitty shorts! Finally!

I’d never imagined someone would actually praise me for wearing what I thought were way-too-short shorts (they just about covered my ass). That’s me being conservative, I guess. Not that it’s a bad thing.

Anyway. Back to the present.

I’m gonna miss Gia while she’s gone, even if it’s only for a few months. Hopefully she has a good time on her trip. I really hope she does.

Also, meanwhile…I’m gonna try to keep up climbing. I really like it, but I hate going alone. Just gotta get over myself and go.

Or, maybe things might change and there’ll be new people to go with. Who knows. I’m mildly optimistic, and even if there isn’t anyone, I just gotta put on some big girl pants and go alone. Self-accompanied. Hell yeah.

I downloaded this mobile game called Dots & Co. Probably late to it by a few years, but anyway. It’s been a fantastic (or terrible, depending on how you look at it) distraction. It’s fun. With Candy Crush vibes but more chill/minimalistic since minimalism is totally on trend now.

Only problem is, I’m trying to reduce my screen time. Gotta preserve that eyesight — though Lasik is a potential option in future.

I even googled “audio game”, and turns out, yes, there is such a thing. Mostly for blind or vision-impaired folks. But that could be worth exploring. Could be interesting, because sometimes I don’t feel like listening to a podcast or audiobook.

Would be cool to explore the kinds of games available to blind people too. Have a taste of their world. I heard, for the first time today, what a blind person’s laptop sounds like. It was mildly panic inducing, since the computer has to voice out all the options, at a really quick speed. Worse than 2x sped-up videos. But it was eye-opening. No irony intended, oops.

What’s a good non vision-related alternative to “eye-opening”?? It was a…new?? experience. Wow. My vocabulary needs help.

The Fitbit arrived today! Pretty exciting. It felt weird having something on my wrist, since I’ve never been a watch-wearer. And damn, now I’ve got my unfitness recorded in actual numbers. Oof.

Also, got another one-on-one with my manager tomorrow. Gonna have to awkwardly bring up the topic of a raise again. Yikes.

Anyway. Time for bed. I’m looking forward to checking out the Fitbit’s sleep tracking abilities.

Oh and, I tried this audio game that has no visuals. It’s interesting. And it was hard (or I just suck). It really immerses you in the soundscape. And it’s so nice to be able to close your eyes, and still be engaged in something.

And one more thing. I got my period and suddenly just got really annoyed by the fact I couldn’t quite sleep in peace. Maybe I’ll try some period panties. TMI? Sorry. Too bad.

Wait a sec… It’s week 52. It’s been a year. Holy crap!

What a year. It feels like nothing much has changed, but at the same time, lots has happened. Progress has been made, I believe. Not in a straight line, but somehow, progress.

Well done me.

xo,

Amber

← Prev. entry (week 51)

Next entry (coming soon) →

--

--